Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Texting While Driving Banned in Ohio

On June 1, 2012, Ohio Gov. John Kasich signed a new law that prohibits text messaging while driving, making Ohio the 39th state to do so. The District of Columbia, Guam and the Virgin Islands also ban text messaging by all drivers. 

The 11 states that have yet to ban text messaging by all drivers are Arizona, Florida, Hawaii, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota and Texas.  Of these states, Mississippi, Missouri, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas have partial bans.

So far, the following ten states, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Washington, and West Virginia prohibit all handheld cell phone use while driving, as well as the District of Columbia, Guam and the Virgin Islands. 

These laws are constantly changing, so play it safe out there when you get behind the wheel!

No comments:

Post a Comment