Thursday, August 2, 2012

New Louisiana Law Effective from Aug 01, 2012

New laws go into effect August 1st, for commercial motor vehicle drivers and drivers with a commercial learner's permit. The laws regard texting while driving and out-of-service orders.

Texting while driving has already been banned in Louisiana, but is now specifically noted as a serious traffic violation regarding commercial drivers.

Any driver who is found in violation of an out-of-service order while driving a commercial motor vehicle will be subject to stiff penalties. First time offenders will face a suspension of 6 months to a year; increased from the 3 month suspension. 

Any driver who is found in violation twice within a ten-year period will face a suspension of 2-5 years. If a driver is found in violation 3 or more times within a ten-year period, the driver will be suspended for at least 3 years and up to 5 years. The longer suspension time for OOS is effective August 1, 2012.

No comments:

Post a Comment